jump to navigation

Guild Shopping March 14, 2011

Posted by Stormy in Uncategorized.
trackback

If you read my previous post, Wandering, you know that I have now found myself in the middle of two ugly guild divorces in the last six months. All the guilds in question are still technically intact, but I’m lost and adrift. My options, as I see them:

1. Leave things as they are. My druid and all my other toons are still in <Sane Asylum>, along with a smattering of various friends and alts, but there are never more than two or three people on at a time, even on the weekend. There are more gquits every day. My priest is in the new incarnation of Old Raiding Guild, but I’m not a good enough raider to be in a raiding guild. But I know the people on both sides, and I could leave things as they are.

2. Go back to the original guild I was in when I started playing. There’s an awful lot of bad blood there, though. Every time I think of getting on my knees and groveling to be let back in, all I can hear are a couple certain voices in Vent, and I just get kind of nauseous.

3. Which leaves option three: guild shopping. I’m not picky…or at least I don’t think I am. I’d like to play with people who speak in complete sentences, or who at least make an effort at it. I’d like to play with people who respect the diversity of their guild (i.e, a guild where one does not hear “fag,” “ur gay!”, “kike,” “Jew”, etc.). I’d like an opportunity to see some raid content when the time is right. But mostly I want to play with people who make me laugh, people who would appreciate the fact that 3/14 is Pi Day, people who worship at the altar of Aaron Sorkin…nice people with brains. Why are these people so hard to find?

LF guild. PST.

Comments»

1. Fuzzy_Magicz - March 15, 2011

I recently found myself in a similiar position, after enduring a few guild deaths in raiding guilds and I still thought I wanted to continue raiding.
I took the plunge and decided to switch to a PvP focus on my main, and I love it. I don’t have to conform to someone else’s schedule any more.
I did, however, have one thing you seem to lack: an old social guild that I have strong ties in, which I was happy to rejoin and be among people I like. It’s a shame you’re reluctant to do the same due to the bad blood in your old guild.
As for the people you describe in the last post, well – I think I know a group of people who sit comfortably within those parameters. People who blog about WoW generally have something between their ears, and I’ve taken steps myself to discovering that there really is a wonderful community out there. It’s not the same as being in their guild, of course, but it’s something.
Anyway, good luck finding a guild that you find comfortable and engaging. Without one, WoW is lonely and boring.

2. Nairu - March 15, 2011

Good luck from me, too. Really, don’t lose your hopes so quickly, I’m sure there is the perfect guild for you somewhere out there on your server. Browse through a few guild forums, talk with a couple officers, and you’ll find it. 🙂 *crosses fingers for you*

3. Chatmay - March 22, 2011

If you are willing to server transfer, we are looking for some more on Terokkar for my guild. We have been doing 10 mans, and are either going to start a 2nd group or start 25 manning it. Just email me 😀


Leave a Reply

