jump to navigation

Dear Blizzard: March 17, 2011

Posted by Stormy in Uncategorized.
trackback

Dear Blizzard Entertainment, provider of the crack which keeps me coming back to WoW:

Your new security procedures are idiotic. I play WoW on a laptop, and I’ve been known to take my laptop with me to various places and log into WoW to keep me entertained. Thursdays are my day off, and you’ll often find me at my local coffee shop logged into WoW grinding rep, working on professions, etc. This business of having me respond to two emails and answer my secret security question every time I log on from a new IP is just inane.

  • I have an authenticator. You know it’s me. My authenticator code matches. The authenticator is still in place and there has never been an attempt to compromise it or remove it. Your logs will show this.
  • Your procedure for resetting my password involves having you send me two emails. These emails, like every other email Blizzard has ever sent to a player ever, end up in my spam folder. We’ve had it drilled into us repeatedly to ignore pretty much every email purportedly from “Blizzard” specifically to protect our accounts, and then you want to send me an email. Hoooookay.
  • “He who would cross the Bridge of Death must answer me these questions…er, one. “What high school did you graduate from?” Anyone who knows my real name can obtain this information in about six seconds and change the password on my WoW account without having access to my authenticator, leaving me out in the cold.

Let’s rethink this one, Blizz. It’s not working.

Love Always,

Me

 

UPDATE: Speaking of grinding rep, I forgot to mention that I’ve been entertaining myself by grinding old school and obscure faction rep, and earlier today I finally finished the Shattered Sun Offensive. Hello, Tormenta of the Shattered Sun! Next up, Lower City and Cenarion Expedition.

Comments»

1. Fuzzy_Magicz - March 17, 2011

Blizzard’s security is abysmal for a company with millions of subscribers and a known hacking and gold selling business.
Did you know that battlenet passwords aren’t case sensitive? Go on, try it. Add to that the fact that you have an unlimited amount of wrong password attempts, and it’s a recipe for easy brute-force hacking.


Leave a Reply

