jump to navigation

The Most Fun I’ve Had in WoW in Weeks March 21, 2011

Posted by Stormy in General Whinging, Personal, Sweating Bullet Points.
trackback

As I’ve discussed previously, things in WoW lately have been kind of…meh. My guild broke up, I’ve got alts all over the place, I’ve rolled baby toons on new servers just to test waters…but everything’s been kind of…meh. Until today.

Sunday, March 20, 2011, about 11:00AM. Our hero is moping around Orgrimmar, bored, forlorn and lost. He’s been futzing around with a baby paladin lately, and on Sunday was able to get the aforementioned paladin to level 36. This is the furthest he’s ever gotten a paladin, and it’s only happened through the combination of the new 1-60 speed leveling, herbalism, and the general speed-leveling of paladins. Bored…what to do, what to do…y’know, I’m over level 30 so I can dual-spec, I’ve got the advantage of total anonymity in the Dungeon Finder, and it’s early on a Sunday morning. What’s this Protection spec business, anyway?

OH MY GOD, people. I had to log over to my priest in Old Raiding Guild just to yell at my two friends who play prot paladins, because you guys have been holding out on me. Prot pallies are FUN, yo. I deliberately skipped the “random” element of the Dungeon Finder and let it throw me into Scarlet Monastery, just because I’ve done SM a million times and could run it in my sleep. AVENGER’S SHIELD HOLY WRATH CONSECRATION DIEEEEE, MOBS, DIE! I didn’t hear any complaints, and no one died, so I queued up again. Maraudon, SM Library, the Warpwood Quarter of Dire Maul (ohgodihatediremaul!)…I spent the entire afternoon TANKING. By the time I was done I was level 40 and had spent the entire afternoon spamming Holy Wrath and cackling my ass off.

So I hit 40: time for plate. Just for shits and giggles I logged over to my priest to see how many Justice Points I had, with the intention of buying a plate heirloom chest (I already have shoulders on a DK that never made it past the early 60s). No sooner did I log in than I’m being bombarded with a party invite and being told to get my butt to Twilight Highlands. They’ve spotted a rare spawn, Julak-Doom, and he’s got 30 million hit points, so they need help! I get to TH and by then there are 15 people in the party. Some of them are guildies, some of them are random people who happened to be walking by. We pull. We die. Repeatedly. Friends, I’m not kidding when I say Julak-Doom was just as hard as any raid boss I’ve ever killed…probably because we had two healers, no strategy, no information about his abilities…we’re just wingin’ it. We wipe. Julak-Doom resets. Dammit. But he doesn’t despawn! We rez everybody, get our act together, buff, and pull again. Ten of the most grueling minutes later…WE WIN! And he drops a spellpower staff nobody wants. Bastard.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve got a case of insomnia that can only be cured with some more Holy Wrath spam.

Comments»

1. Fuzzy_Magicz - March 21, 2011

Protection paladin is very, very fun. Solo group quests, pull packs like it’s nobody’s business, and outdps the dps in RDF. If you’re interested in learning a bit more about how to own as Prot pally, check out this article by Windsoar (it helped me): http://www.jadedalt.com/2011/03/18/protection-paladin-basics-the-abilities/

2. Nairu - March 21, 2011

So good to hear you’re having a good time again! 😀
Tanking can be so much fun, just don’t let annoying people get to you (you know… healers/DDs spamming “gogogo” and pulling in your stead, or blaming you for pulling aggro when they started to fire at mobs before you had even reached them).

3. theasylumwall - March 21, 2011

@Nairu

Look for a post from me later this week…”Things DPS do that make me homicidal.” 🙂

I ended up running the Warpwood Quarter of DM (ohgodihatediremaul) twice, and *both* runs had a boomkin that insisted on spamming typhoon at every possible opportunity. Rogues/kitties who stand in front of the mob (I don’t even like melee and I know that if you’re standing in front, you’re doing it wrong), hunters rolling on caster gear, hunters pulling everything in sight, DPS running off in the opposite direction and pulling things without a tank or healer…sigh.

But still…AVENGER’S SHIELD HOLY WRATH CONSECRATE DIE MOBS DIEEEEEEE.

4. xylotism - April 10, 2011

Yep, I can’t stand playing a Pally in any other spec, but Prot is pretty fun! You never seem to die and you can put out more DPS in dungeons than almost anyone else until level 40-50.

That said, I haven’t played a Pally past 50 yet. I can’t stand tanking without Death Grip. 🙂


Leave a Reply

