jump to navigation

The Daily Grind April 6, 2011

Posted by Stormy in General Whinging, Moar Ranting.
trackback

(I’m baaaaack! Sorry I abandoned you all, but I left you in good hands. I didn’t expect to be gone for almost a week and turn the blog exclusively over to Rush, but I read the piece he wrote about Westfall and I couldn’t wait to share it with you all. But I’m back, and I missed you all terribly.)

I have a confession to make. I hate dailies. I loathe them. I can’t stand them. I do them begrudgingly because I have to, but they make my skin crawl. I resent being told by the Whatever High Atop the Thing that I must log into WoW every day and complete some menial task in order to curry favor with some furry little race of people, or that I must prove my mad skills in jewelcrafting four times to be able to buy a new pattern. I hate the sense of obligation, the idea that I’m somehow a terrible slacker if I miss a day, the idea that when I log into WoW for the first time every day there’s a list of homework assignments that must be completed before I go any further.

But I do them. For the most part. I do the cooking and fishing daily every day on my hunter. I do the jewelcrafting daily on my druid every day (although I have about 45 unspent tokens burning a hole in my pocket for when epic gems finally come out). Although I have the Kingslayer and Assistant Professor titles on my druid, I wear my Crusader title because dammit, I worked for it. Just yesterday my priest handed in Archmage Galus’s staff for the last time and bought her shiny new caster trinket from Hellscream’s Reach (and I’ll be damned if I’m going to spend another month on that godforsaken peninsula island on any of my other toons).

Here’s the part where you’re all going to think I’m nuts:

Back in the olden days of vanilla and BC, before daily quests became a painful and necessary obligation, one proved their mettle with various factions by doing what us Warcraft players are good at: killing things. Lots of things. We might kill furbolgs in Felwood and steal their feathers or zombies in Stratholme and steal their stitchings, but we killed things. The best part about this method is that if you’re just a wee bit OCD like I am, you could block out six hours, mount up on your trusty Traveler’s Tundra Mammoth, and go kill furbolgs until your eyes bleed (I just did the Timbermaw grind on my priest about a month ago, and boy howdy do they love me in that tunnel now). You could go kill six ogres in Nagrand today, forget about it for a month, then go back and kill six thousand more. This method far outshines the daily quest method.

I understand that one of Blizzard’s goals with Cataclysm was to throttle our consumption of their content so that we didn’t all run out, level to 85 in a week, then disappear into the woodwork until a new raid tier came out, but I’m getting to the point where some parts of WoW feel decidedly like homework. And that shouldn’t be the case. I’ve always said that I’d never join a hardcore raiding guild because if someone else is going to dictate when I’m to be logging on and how much time I’m going to spend, what I’m to be bringing with me, how to spend my time and is going to do a performance evaluation that may result in me being removed from my position, WoW stops being a game and starts being a job…and I already have one of those.

What say ye? Do you prefer the grind method, the daily quest method, the champion tabard method, or something else?

(IMPORTANT TEASER NOTE: One of the reasons I’ve been sort of AWOL this week is because I’ve been working on a bit of a project that I’m really, really excited about. Watch this space Friday morning, and if all goes well I’ll be able to let you all in on what I’ve dubbed my #evilplan).

Comments»

1. Rush - April 6, 2011

I have a love/hate relationship with dailies.

Love: A concrete, repeatable way to earn rep with the factions of Azeroth and Draenor that doesn’t involve racing to tag all the bears in a corner of the forest before the other players doing the same thing

Hate: The homework feeliing that you described. Although, maybe errands are the better word for it.

I think that Cataclysm helped the problem a little bit, by adding in some variety to the quests. The worst part of the Crusader grind was that with the exception of the obnoxious sword quests, you did the EXACT SAME THING every day, and the dailies on IQD for SSO rep I got so familiar with that I had a specific path I took through the zone to do them all with the most efficiency. So the slight randomness of the quests on Tol Barad is nice. It’s still a chore, but it’s not the same chore.

My solution to the monotony though, is not caving to the every day mentality. I burn out that way, and since I’ll never be a raider (or at least not any time soon), there’s no hard and fast time I need to accomplish anything, so I can do it when I feel like it, which helps. A little.

2. Jasyla - April 6, 2011

I also hate dailies, I generally just refuse to do them. Well, that’s not exactly true. But for me they are less like dailies and more like “once-in-a-while-when-I-feel-like-it-ies.” I’m even a self-professed achievement whore, but I do the achievements that come from dailies at my own pace and never feel pressured to login when I don’t want to.

I like the way things are handled in Cataclysm. It’s nice to have a choice between dailies and running dungeons with champion-tabards. The grindy item turn-ins is the least enjoyable for me.

3. Fuzzy_Magicz - April 6, 2011

It’s all in the way you approach them.
I do dailies, and indeed many other aspects of the game, like the daily random/bg, because I want to, not because I feel I should for x number of cool points.
Getting home, putting some music on and chilling out with a round of dailies is an awesome thing when I want to. But if I’d rather be making a new alt or playing CoD, I’m not gonna sit there and do dailies because I have a simulated addiction to cool points. The distinction keeps everything fun.

4. Melfina the Blue - April 6, 2011

I don’t hate dailies, in fact I like some of them for leveling (walrus people ones for example), but I dislike the homework-ish aspect of them. I’d much prefer a weekly quota system similar to what they’re instituting for heroics. To me, it’s much more fun to spend a couple of hours banging out quests or slaughtering mobs once a week when I’m in the mood for it. I had a lot of fun getting exalted with the skyguard mostly because I ran around slaughtering skettis when I felt like it, instead of doing the dailies.

I’ve actually been trying to figure out why I like the dailies I do, and what makes me dislike some sets of dailies so intensely (TB, Wildhammer, I’m looking at you). So far it seems to have something to do with gathering abilities, extra mobs (I don’t like them), and competition vs space. But even the dailies I enjoy I don’t always do every day. If it feels too much like homework on a particular day, well, I can live without a jcing token or 300 rep.


Leave a Reply

