jump to navigation

Thursday Thoughts April 21, 2011

Posted by Stormy in General Whinging, Sweating Bullet Points, Tank Girl.
trackback

The Easter weekend is coming up, and many of you are probably toddling of to see family and friends, eat lots of ham, overdose on chocolate bunny ears and maybe do churchy things, so I figured it was time for a quick screenshot and brain dump before the holiday weekend. I’ll keep it short and sweet…like me!

Wherein I win at life.

The unthinkable has happened. I’m generally horrible at keeping my professions leveled as I level a new toon, and I’m notorious for spending my first few days at 85 going back to EK/Outland/Northrend to gather mats and get those last two or three hundred points. Not this time! 525 Engineering, baby! My Inscription is at 510, and Miss Tank Girl is only level 77! Total gold spent leveling Engineering: less than 4K. I win at life.

Rawwwwwr FEAR ME!

The Engineering didn’t come easy, though. There was bloodshed. Well, oil shed. See, I have this intense rivalry with the Fel Reaver. Every time I level through Hellfire I find myself ducking around corners, running around like crazy, and still sometimes getting squashed by Outland’s very own Fat Bastard. As soon as I hit 80 on my hunter, one of the first things I did was trek back to Hellfire and exact my revenge. Last weekend I was farming fel iron on my priest when I heard the telltale mechanical thumping and felt the ground shaking.

RAWRRRRR! FEAR ME! I AM THE FEL REAVER! I WILL SQUASH YOU!”

You wouldn't think Mind Sear would work on a Fel Reaver...

Whatever, dude. You’re a 70 elite. I’m 85. I have 122,000 hit points. Good luck with that.

What the hell?

As I was flying around Hellfire I swooped over the Dark Portal and noticed…what the hell is that? A PORTAL? To ORGRIMMAR? Where did *that* come from? Has that always been there? Turns out it’s been there since at least early Wrath and I’m just That Guy who never noticed it. All this time I’ve been doing things the sucker’s way by walking from the Dark Portal to Stonard, flying to Grom’gol and taking the zeppelin. BRB getting “n00b” tattoed on my forehead.

Having discovered the wonders of the Orgrimmar portal, I went back to Org and spent the next week making widgets and gizmos to impress my Engineering trainer and licking my wounds from my encounter with the Fel Reaver. I had won this round, but surely there must be a way to settle our differences once and for all. When I got to about 510 in Engineering my trainer leaned over to me with a wicked grin on his face and cackled.

“I have just the thing to help you with your little Fel Reaver problem!” he said. “We’ll shrink him down to teeny tiny size and enslave him! Your very own Personal World Destroyer!”

What are we going to do today, Brain?

Muhahahaha! *maniacal laughter*

I was so pleased with myself that I made three of them. One for me, one for Rush, and one for Rush’s main squeeze, our favorite warlockydruidypriestything, Suzypants. I’m going to call mine Mini Me.

Comments»

1. Fuzzy_Magicz - April 22, 2011

I thought that portal to Org was just for decoration, explaining why soldiers were running through all the time. I swear it used to be, so they must’ve ninja patched it to fully operational status.
Also, have you hidden your easter egg on the blog yet? I’m having a hard time coming up with where to put mine.

Stormy - April 22, 2011

“Also, have you hidden your easter egg on the blog yet?”

I have indeed. *grin*

Rush - April 22, 2011

I think they were originally just for decoration. Hence the confusion for long-term players. I didn’t know they worked until last fall.

Suzanne - April 23, 2011

Indeed. They were decorative when BC launched. Reinforcements for the battle against the demons at the Stair of Destiny would come through from Orgrimmar or Stormwind. (Yes, I’m a dork! But you knew that.)

Stormy - April 23, 2011

@Suz (Sorry, WP won’t let replies go more than three deep)

Were there then “reinforcements” going through the portals on the other side in SW/Org, or are we just supposed to believe these magickal troops came out of thin magickal air?


Leave a Reply

