jump to navigation

Raindrops Keep Fallin’ on My Head June 8, 2011

Posted by Stormy in Uncategorized.
trackback

Over the past couple months me, Rush and Suz have developed a bit of a morning dailies routine. I can’t speak for them, but for me it’s the same every time: log into my druid and double check on any guild administrivia then do the JC daily, log over to my paladin and do Northrend Inscription Research, log over to my hunter and do the cooking and fishing dailies in Thunder Bluff, and finally, log over to my warlock and do the cooking and fishing dailies in Undercity. In the meantime there’s bleary eyed chitchat and lots and lots of coffee. It’s a small list of chores I have to do before I can get started on the things I want to do. It’s the very definition of mundane.

This morning was a little different. I did the JC daily and the inscription research, and then got on my hunter and flew over to Bloodhoof Village to do The Race to Restock. As I was rolling my eyes at the Forsaken warlock who had chosen to come and fish quite literally right on top of me, I looked up and realized something: it was raining. In Thunder Bluff. I suppose it’s not unusual that it rains in Thunder Bluff. Baine and Aska Mistrunner and all the other Tauren elders are probably used to it. But it took me back to that moment nearly two years ago when I found myself absolutely in awe of rain. The first time I noticed rain there was this shocking realization of the level of detail Blizzard had injected into Azeroth. They actually coded into the game the ability for it to just randomly start raining once in a while. It’s these little, amazing touches, the dynamic changes that make Azeroth actually feel alive.

I had a similar experience during Brewfest 2009. My hunter was a wee little calf at the time, and I had absolutely no idea that there were ingame holidays or the level of involvement the whole world has in these holidays. There’s a covered bridge in Silverpine Forest between Undercity and the Sepulcher, and I remember a similar moment of awe as I walked over that bridge one day and saw a Brewfest banner hanging from it. The banner was bubbling! I giggled, and thought it was the coolest thing ever.

So what amazes you about Azeroth? What pulls you back from that morning dailies routine and makes you say “Wow! This is way cool!”

Comments»

1. Rush - June 8, 2011

I remember way back when I started my first gnome or dwarf toon (I can’t remember which) and for some reason I’d zoomed in on the front of my character and noticed that in the cold of Dun Morogh, you could see his/her breath. Such a little thing with ZERO impact on game play, and I was so amazed.


Leave a Reply

