jump to navigation

I’m Melting, I’m Melting! July 5, 2011

Posted by Stormy in General Whinging, Zones.
trackback

Dramatis Personae:

Joe, a Blizzard developer

Kate, another Blizzard developer

Setting: A typical boardroom

Kate enters carrying a stack of papers, looking rather disheveled. Joe is waiting for her at the table.

Joe: Rough day?

Kate: Ugh. It’s this new Molten Front dailies project I’ve been working on. But I think I figured it out. Here’s the plan: We’re going to take every 85 on every server and ask them to do a set of dailies. The rewards from these dailies will be good enough that no halfway serious character in all of Azeroth will be able to pass them up! These dailies will take place in a space the size of a shoebox, and every person will get the same five dailies every day. The mobs will respawn instantly when they’re killed, for extra Fun Rating. Every time you complete a daily you’ll get a token called a Mark of the World Tree. The tokens aren’t worth anything at all and don’t do anything at all, but you can’t get any of the rewards until you’ve collected 685 of them.

Joe: Sounds good. Let’s do it.

This actually happened.

I’m not opposed to dailies. Really, I’m not. I swear. I have the Crusader title on my druid to prove it. We’ve discussed this issue here before, and of the possible methods for rep grinding the dailies method is a pretty popular one. But here’s the thing: it’s not the dailies, the tabards, the endless rep turn-ins, etc. that are broken. It’s Blizzard’s insistence on making us do one particular thing over and over and over for months. Six hundred and eighty five Marks of the World Tree. Let that sink in. And when you’re done with collecting 685 marks, the rewards aren’t even purchased with marks–they’re purchased with gold.

The Crusader title took me six weeks. Northrend Inscription Research, which I finally finished this weekend (praise be to Elune) took sixty-four days. Someone at Wowhead did the math, and the Molten Front dailies will take thirty-three days…and then you get to go back and start over on your next character, unless you’ve been doing all the dailies two or three times a day. The most annoying part about the Molten Front dailies is that they don’t even give Avengers of Hyjal rep–apparently I’m not worthy of Avengers rep.

Still, I got swanky new necklaces for both of my casters this weekend. I guess that makes it worth it.

Comments»

1. Holiday cheer - July 5, 2011

[…] Wall is questioning whether a grind for 685 – yes, 685 – Marks of the World Tree is really great game design, and in happier news, Spinks is discovering that actually, the RIFT endgame is kinda […]

2. spinks - July 5, 2011

How many characters did you get the crusader title on? I think this grind is comparable to that.

3. Awryt - July 6, 2011

I agree. While my husband ground to Crusader on 3 toons, I don’t have that much patience. So far, this is the expansion most likely to kill my alts. Between working on raids, running heroics, and doing dailies, I feel like I have no free time… This will likely lead people to burnout since it makes the game feel like a second job.

Grinding isn’t fun and it doesn’t add to replayability.

I like the Molten Front and the quests and evolving landscape are cool, but I have a feeling I won’t want to do them on another toon by the time I finish on my main.

4. Ryan Hale - July 6, 2011

SWANKY NEW NECKLACES!

Stormy - July 6, 2011

It’s all about the ba-bling ba-bling…


Leave a Reply

