jump to navigation

I’m learning… September 7, 2011

Posted by Ben in General Whinging, PvP.
trackback

 

A few weeks back I decided that I wanted to dedicate one of my max-level characters to PvP. Waiting in queues for the eventual ill-fated Stonecore run was not holding the same allure (unrelated, but I’ve noticed that my odds of completing the dungeon are much higher in the Zul’roics than then the regular heroics, although I do have a rather small sample set). I’d already purchased a fair amount of the ilvl 358 blue gear from the AH to boost the stats of my newest 85, and thus my hunter became the guinea pig for my PvP interest.

 

First, I was amazed at how much less time I spent waiting for a battleground to pop than a dungeon. Rarely more than two minutes would go by before I was yanked through the Twisting Nether to a battlefield. It was exciting. I was accumulating Honor Points as quickly as I used to collect Emblems of Triumph back in the days immediately following patch 3.3. (adjusted for the different reward scheme, obviously), and by the end of the first weekend was decked out in three pieces of the ilvl 371 Season 10 set. Along the way I learned a few things about PvP in general and my own skill level.

 

1) I need a lot of work on placing traps quickly. Maybe there’s an efficient addon or macro out there that will make sure I’ve cast Trap Launcher before I try to send my Snake Trap into the fray, but I’ve got to stop dropping it at my feet.

 

2) I need to learn better mobility. PvE has trained me as a pretty good turret, but that’s not very effective when you’re trying to kill that rogue.

 

2b) I hate rogues. Being stunlocked to death and within 8 yards is frustrating.

 

3) Turn off Auto-shot BEFORE you cast one of those abilities that disables your opponent. Shooting Wyvern Sting, Scatter Shot or Freezing Trap is more effective if I don’t immediately break the effect.

 

4) I still love Arathi Basin. Something about that battleground makes me so excited. Even when my faction is getting pummelled, I can’t think of a BG that is more fun.

 

5) I despise Warsong Gulch (and to a lesser extent Twin Peaks).

 

6) I miss the pre-BC, pre-zerg days of Alterac Valley. I don’t mean the original multi-day all-out battles in the Valley of Strife, but the multi-hour struggles where defense was just as important as offense. When you’d actually try to hold the line at a graveyard or chokepoint or push to expel your opponent from your keep and push them all the way back to Snowfall.

 

7) I’m really pretty bad at PvP. I know that I’m going to die much more often in this environment than while doing dungeons or questing, and I’m okay with that. but I seem to visit the Spirit Healer pretty often.

 

7b) I’m not as bad at PvP as I think I am. I don’t know if the leaderboard at the end of a BG is in any way a fair way to judge your performance, but I sometimes end up high on the list for things like killing blows or honorable kills.

 

So dear readers, any hints for a struggling and aspiring PvPer? And feel free to tell me that I’ve picked the wrong class, I’m beginning to think that already.

Comments»

1. Fuzzy_Magicz - September 9, 2011

When I switched to PvP I had to rebind all my keys ‘properly’. In PvE you don’t need great response time so I just bound things to the first letter of the spell or similiar – but once you really need the reactions you should bind your keys around your movement keys and prioritise more important spells closer. Helps A LOT, even more than I thought it would.

Also, play some Arena. It is superior to battlegrounds 🙂

Rush - September 9, 2011

I did some arenas way back in Burning Crusade, maybe I’ll try and coerce some of my guildies into creating a team with me.

Bound to the first letter of the spell? Wow. I’ve spent almost all of my WoW life with my left hand hoving over “123456-QWERTY”, and have graduated into the more complex shift and alt modifiers. More strategic placement might be in order.

Stormy - September 9, 2011

I know this is heretical and I’m going to be laughed out of my own blog for saying it…

I’m a clicker.

There. I said it. I feel better. I have all my spells laid out on my action bar in ways that make (varying degrees of) sense, and I’m a clicker. Why am I a clicker? Because there’s a visual queue for me that a) the spell I want to use is available and not on CD, and b) I know WHAT I’m clicking. I briefly tried Fuzzy’s method of binding them to keys that correspond to the names of spells, but then I’m a druid who has Starfire and Starfall to worry about and I just get a headache and…

I’m a clicker. I’m getting away from keyboard turning, and I have all my healing stuff click-bound with Clique and my unit frames, but when it comes to DPS or tanking…I’m a clicker.

Fuzzy_Magicz - September 9, 2011

I’m confused – is this blog post by Stormy or Rush? Because, Stormy, if it is you, (and bear in mind I mean this in the nicest possible way, from someone who simply wants to help) if you’re PvPing as a clicker, you are quite simply doing it wrong!
But 123456QWERTY works pretty well – your keys are in an easy to reach position and have some order to them. It’s all personal preference, anyway.

Stormy - September 9, 2011

There’s about eight different ways this comment makes my head hurt.

A) The original post is by Rush. B) Rush is the one using 1234QWERTY to bind his spells, not me. C) Your “you’re doing it wrong” comment only applies to me, not Rush? I are confused.

I do not PvP. Ever. Period. No, that was NOT me in WSG on my discipline priest (*shifts eyes*). Rush PvPs occasionally on his hunter. I click. Rush pushes buttons.

Clear? As mud?

Fuzzy_Magicz - September 9, 2011

Yes, thanks. ^^


Leave a Reply

