jump to navigation

Class Feedback, Part I: General Quality of Life September 17, 2011

Posted by Stormy in Classes, General Whinging.
trackback

As you’re all no doubt aware by now, in the past week the fine folks at Blizzard did something pretty epic. They posted a series of posts in each class forum asking for something pretty amazing: feedback from YOU, the lowly player, the Blizzard customer, on what YOU think about your class. I know, I know…pick your jaw up off the floor. But see, I’m not just any WoW player…I’m a WoW Blogger. And therefore I’m very important and have a very large megaphone with which to scream my demands for How Blizzard Should Do Things The Way I Want Them Done. Why are you looking at me like that? Jeez. Stop poking me! Besides, if I post my responses strictly on the forums they will, in the words of Stillmal at PlusHeal, be “lost in a sea of stupid.” Anyway, over the next few days I’ll be puttin’ mah [Thinkin’ Cap of Thinkin’] on and posting my responses to the class feedback questionnaire here.

*See how I call them fine folks when I’m asking them to do things for me, and curse the names of each and every Blizzard employee and their progeny when they do something that works my last nerve? Shameless, party of one…

Before I get into individual classes, there are a few general quality of life issues I’d like to get off my chest:

  • I appreciate the work Blizzard tried to do in Cataclysm with revamping talents, spell availability, stats and gearing, etc., but it’s time to admit one sad reality: Mastery is teh dumb. Some classes (fellow tankadins, I’m looking at you) love Mastery and can’t possibly swallow enough huge gobs of it to make them happy. Other classes (spriests represent!) roll their eyes in Mastery’s general direction and go on their merry way. The way Mastery was originally explained it was going to be the bread-and-butter stat for every class and make every class more awesome. That didn’t happen.
  • I will be the first one to concede that trying to design a game that caters to slackers, earnest casuals, achievement farmers, AH-minigame-junkies and hardcore raiders all at the same time is a job I certainly don’t envy. I can imagine the giant bottles of Maalox that must live on Zarhym and Ghostcrawler’s desks as they trawl through the cesspool that is the forums. I must quibble, however, with a decision that was made to appease the hardcore raiding set for Cataclysm: the shoulder/head token situation. My main, my shadow priest, is currently rocking a motley mix of 365s from Molten Front gear, 359 gear leftover from T11, a 378 wand and bracers…and blue 346 shoulders and head. There is quite literally a ceiling of how well-geared a character can be without raiding, and it’s holding large parts of the game back. I cannot compete with the seriously geared hardcore raiders who inhabit random dungeon groups, and the longer this goes on, the more of a disparity there will be between the serious raiders and their DPS and those of us stuck wearing blues. As a compromise I would suggest requiring the tokens for current content, but when a tier is deprecated and replaced it would be nice if the token requirement for the previous tier went away.
  • I think there’s more work to be done with revamping professions. While I appreciate that the game as it stands is pretty much a base game (1-60) with three other games laid on top of it (60-70, 70-80 and 80-85), the prospect of having to grind 525 points in a profession makes my skin crawl. Some of the redesigns were a smashing success. Leveling Inscription was–compared to tailoring–a breeze. I’ve never leveled Blacksmithing or Leatherworking because the experience of leveling Tailoring gives me PTSD flashbacks. On the subject of Inscription specifically, there were rumblings that the glyphs from Books of Glyph Mastery were going to be available elsewhere, and it would be nice to see that come to fruition.
  • Also on the subject of professions, I’ve always wondered why Enchanters were the only special people who got to break down old gear and salvage materials from it. Why can’t a tailor rip apart an old robe and salvage the silk cloth from it, or a leatherworker rip apart old boots and take the Heavy Leather out of them?
  • I never understood it when Dalaran was everyone’s home city, and now that Dalaran and Shattrath are basically deprecated content it makes even less sense: what kind of dopey mage designed the one-way portals that can port me from Dalaran to Orgrimmar but not Orgrimmar to Dalaran?
  • I’d like to see the “random” Dungeon Finder retuned specifically for Outland and Northrend. There are something like 16 or 19 dungeons in Northrend, but when leveling through Northrend you’re apt to see Utgarde Keep, Nexus and Old Kingdom a thousand times and never see the Ulduar or ICC 5s. Grinding UK for the umpteenth time when you know there’s a whole world of other randoms out there just gets…old.
  • While I understand that any achievements/gear/etc. are the reward for a lot of hard work, it seems to me that the endless debate about dailies versus tabards versus other reputation methods could be solved with one change: the Revered-to-Exalted grind of 21,000 reputation points is just too damned daunting. I can breeze through Friendly and Honored of pretty much every rep, but the last 3/4 of Revered to Exalted makes me want to throw my computer out the window.
  • On the subject of reputation grinds, one of the biggest shortcomings of Cataclysm in my opinion has been the lack of out-of-the-way second-tier reputation factions and Stuff To Do you *could* grind if you wanted to that weren’t absolutely 100% necessary to your success in the game. In Cataclysm you *have* to grind Therazane for shoulder enchants, Guardians of Hyjal for the head enchant, etc. BC had Ogri’la, the Consortium, the Mag’har/Kurenai, Netherwing, etc., which you could grind for special rewards if you had the time and energy, but Cataclysm doesn’t have that.

And there you have it…a long list of gripes, most of which could be fixed very easily and would greatly increase my enjoyment of the game. So what’s on your lists, folks?

Comments»

1. Zinn - September 18, 2011

“I’d like to see the “random” Dungeon Finder retuned specifically for Outland and Northrend”

Not to mention you get to see BRD 500 times between level 49 and 58…

Great points, all of the above, some of which I hadn’t even thought of myself (like the Dalaran portal,now that you mention it it really makes no sense). I like the idea for the tier tokens as well, I agree that you shouldn’t have to raid to get full old tiers.

And about professions… don’t get me started. I am currently skilling on enchanting, and eventhough it is considered among the easier to skill (and it is! I’ve skilled BS and LW and it really sucks), I’m currently at late Vanilla enchants and one Essence costs over 100g. I usually need at least one for my skills. And the drop rate from mobs? I tried grinding them in LRBS/UBRS and it was horror, a full run (both instances) gave me 4 or so. Not to mention the three or so hours I spent killing Nagas to get one (ONE!) Iridescent Pearl for my enchanting rod. Worst of all, everything I create is completely worthless (unlike with Inscription). So yeah, needs some fixing 😡

Rush - September 19, 2011

I remember being so excited when they announced the changes to leveling professions in Cataclysm. The idea that some of the items would give multiple skill ups was such a great idea. And it was implemented so well in Inscription. And then hardly at all below 450 for any of the other professions. Why do I still need to create 15 [Gauntlets of Wasted Mithril]?
Also, while I appreciate that I have to buy the high-end patterns, having to sink 10 Heavy Savage Leather into just getting ONE pattern is excessive. What if every profession had fun little flavor items (similar to what Engineering does for cogwheels) that I could craft or find for them?
And for the love of Pete, please make Chaos Orbs BoE already.


Leave a Reply

