jump to navigation

Hiatus February 20, 2012

Posted by Stormy in Meta, Moar Ranting, Personal.
trackback

It’s been quiet around here lately, and I wanted to let all three of you who read the blog with any regularity that it’s going to stay that way for the foreseeable future. Really I’m writing this post solely to absolve me of the guilt I feel when I have a free hour in front of the computer and hear that nagging voice that says, “I should write a blogpost.”

I’ve been sick for the past five (six?) weeks and logging into WoW pretty infrequently. I’ve got more major health stuff I need to deal with this spring and potentially summer. Given that we’re at the end of an expansion cycle and I’m quite literally out of things to do in Cataclysm, the things I’m currently doing in WoW amount to holiday dailies, Darkmoon dailies, Ogri’la and Sha’tari Skyguard dailies and the like, and when I think about logging into WoW I end up thinking, “I should log in and do Ogri’la dailies.” and then it starts to feel like an obligation instead of a game and the tiny rational part of my brain that remains kicks in and says “Yo, it’s a game.” and I end up going off to waste time on Reddit and Twitter instead.

Add to that the fact that a sizable chunk of the WoW blogosphere has run off to play Star Wars: The “Oooh Shiny!” Republic and that WoW Insider has given the finger to the blogosphere, and caring about my WoW blog isn’t worthy of taking up real estate in my brain right now.

Caveats: I have not spoken to Rush about this*, and he still has keys to the blog, so there’s that. I own the domain and the service and whatnot until at least November, and by then hopefully we’ll have Hello Panda Adventure Pokemon Island Funtime and I’ll have things to say about that. Until then…

So long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, adieu…

*And since this post turned out pretty ranty and snide, it’s worth pointing out that I wrote this of my own accord…

Comments»

1. Rush - February 21, 2012

It’s something I’ve said many times, and something I believe. We all have periods of burnout in the game. You can’t play the same game for as many years as I have without periods where you just can’t muster the enthusiasm. Currently my play time is divided between running LFR on a few characters, and pushing the last one or two characters over the hurdle to 85. But mostly I’m just waiting for the arrival of Diablo III, the Mists beta and the Mists Pandamonium Explosion.

I’ll try to pop in here and keep the blog going, but we shall see. Maybe I’ll regale with tales of attempting to do decent dps in a Retribution spec while geared for Protection. It is humbling to say the least.

2. Fuzzy_Magicz - February 21, 2012

Have fun away

3. red cow - February 22, 2012

Take care of yourself! Enjoy your time off 🙂

4. Jasyla - February 22, 2012

Take care of yourself.

I’ll be here to read when you decide to come back. See you on Twitter 🙂


Leave a Reply

