jump to navigation

That in-between time… February 25, 2012

Posted by Ben in Achievements, General Whinging, Leveling, Raiding.
trackback

As a kind of related follow-up to Stormy’s post, I had my own thoughts.

We’ve entered that period where we’re all waiting for the next expansion, and in each of those intervening times in my *gulp* seven years playing the game have been different.

As Vanilla was drawing down, my play time was relatively limited by being a full-time student and working 30-35 hours a week. I had one level 60 character, and hadn’t even managed to assemble more than a couple pieces of Tier 0.

As Burning Crusade drew down, I was now just working full-time and had a more reliable internet connection, and I was utilizing the xp-smoothing changes to Azeroth to get four characters to level 70, and enjoying The Isle of Quel’Danas (which is still my favorite clusters of dailies).

As Wrath of the Lich King drew down, I was finally in a guild that did raiding, and we were trying to get Arthas down in the last weeks. Add to that the Dungeon Finder, and having switched servers and factions over the xpac’s life cycle, I had five level 80s and a few knocking on the door.

Now as Cataclysm is coming to its end, I’m in a totally different place. I’m not in a raiding guild anymore, but the Raid Finder has allowed my to kill Deathwing several times on three different characters. (I had only TWO Arthas kills on one character as Wrath ended). I have seven level 85 characters and at least two more that will make it there before MoP drops.

So what am I doing now?

– My priest has attained the full t13 look (except the gloves), and is now returning to the Loremaster questing that I’d left behind some months back. My goblin shaman is also working on getting t13, but not for the appearance, because her transmogged tier one recolor is so much cooler.

– I have plenty of confidence in my ability to tank as protection (at least on the 5-man level), but don’t want to deal with the hassle and abuse I see tanks take in LFR, so I’m attempting to teach myself the Retribution spec after having played nothing by Protection on my Paladin since level 30, and while you can switch back and forth fairly easily between Elemental and Restoration Shamaning with the same gear, trying to do the same for Protection to Retribution is a humbling experience. So I’m trying to put together a more dps-oriented gear set, from the HoT dungeons. And the RNG isn’t always kind.

I got the Annual Pass, so I have the MoP beta to look forward too. And Diablo III is certain to begin soon, and while I’ve never played that franchise before, I’m gonna give it a shot. (and since it’s going to be free, why not?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

