jump to navigation

Rush’s first thoughts on the MoP Deluge March 19, 2012

Posted by Ben in Classes, General Whinging, Leveling, Personal, Raiding, Zones.
trackback

This is all just first impressions and bullet points as I consume the information.

Pandaren & Factions – I like the way they’ve decided to have you choose your fate. It’s not just a flat choice, but having to choose between two philosophies could make for some interesting questing for the little furballs.

Female Pandaren – I think I like them. It isn’t quite what I expected, but as I can’t put my finger on what I was thinking, it’s okay. They’re more “cute” than I anticipated, but certainly better than the female worgen (which I wasn’t as averse to as others)

Expansion Story – Patch 5.0 is Pandaria, Patch 5.1 starts “The War” – This idea really gets me excited, and reminds me of the original game. Each of the expansions has had a track it has moved on, with one big bad guy waiting for you at the end. (Although BC did throw the Kael’thas/Kil’jaden twist at the end after it seemed that Illidan was the xpac’s baddie). This is going to be a much more evolving story, and reminds me of patches from the past like The War Effort that preceded the opening of AQ. As someone who loves this game as much for the story as the actual gameplay, color me giddy.

Monk Class – I don’t even know how to begin handling all this information. The abilities sound exciting, but until we actually get our hands into it, the rotations are a complete mystery. But I’m not yet dissuaded from rolling at least one (probably two), especially since we are getting an ELEVENTH slot!

Scenarios – Instanced group questing. For <Sane Asylum> this sounds awesome.

Questing – The zones seem to have interesting stories, but even Cataclysm had that (if a bit linear), so we’ll see how the replay-ability works out.

Daily Quests

  • Tillers – I’ll wait to see how this looks, but I’m intrigued by the very personal progression here. Seems an extension of the Molten Front concept which I really enjoyed.
  • Cloud Serpent – This is just an extension of the Venomhide raptor and Winterspring Tiger mounts.

Dungeons/Raids – These are what they are. 9 Heroics and 14 Raid bosses (and the availability of LFR) mean I’ll have plenty of opportunities for variety when my characters reach max level. And what more is there to say after: HEROIC SCARLET MONASTERY! Oh, and Beer Elementals in the Brewery dungeon? That sounds like potential for some hilarity.

Pet Battles – PokeWoW as it’s been called. I like it. Account-wide pets is huge. Sounds like a fun thing to do while waiting for dungeon/raid queues. Haters gonna hate, but this is only list of things I’m eager to try out.

Comments»

1. antlergirl - March 19, 2012

With all this new information, I can’t wait for the beta to start and see what it actually will play like 🙂

2. Suzanne - March 19, 2012

Regarding Kael’thas at the end of BC, this quote comes to mind:

“Did you honestly believe I would trust the future to some blind, half-night elf mongrel? Hahahaha… Oh no, no, no, he was merely an instrument, a stepping stone to a much larger plan!”

3. Stormy - March 19, 2012

I’m really excited for the return and development of the Lilian Voss story, and I can’t wait to participate in the Siege of Orgrimmar and put a few Mind Blasts in Garrosh Hellscream’s head. I look forward to seeing how they play out the whole war between the Alliance and the Horde and how we get from the burning of Theramore to a bloody coup taking out Garrosh.

From an aesthetic perspective I’m really, really excited about the cosmetic glyphs they’re introducing for druids. I hope it means the return of permatree.

The Pandaren female, however, is an abomination. I’m thoroughly disgusted…but that’s another blogpost.


Leave a Reply

