jump to navigation

Standing around the Watercooler March 27, 2012

Posted by Ben in Beta, General Whinging, Pandaria, Raiding.
trackback

It’s always fun when Blizz releases one of the “Dev Watercooler” posts. It’s a great peek inside some of the more complicated development aspects of the game, and gives an opportunity for a detailed explanation that doesn’t exist in the standard Blue response.

Today’s was all about Loot in MoP:

New LFR loot system – I, for one, am appreciative of this change. Having been on more than one occaision pestered/bothered/slandered when I won a piece of loot that another person thought would be better for them…so much win. Add to that no longer looking with frustration at a raid group that is over half full of Paladins, Priests and Warlocks and realizing that you have to roll against that many other people for your token.

AoE Looting – This is already in the Beta. And it’s seamless. I haven’t seen it on a large scale, but in the situation where you accidently pull two mobs? Bam. Loot. I’ll admit to still trying to loot the other mob because I forget about the change, but when I was back on Live and trying to loot eight Converted Heroes in Icecrown while working on my paladin’s Crusader title…I sure missed it.

New Valor point system – The details on this were light, but to paraphrase the Locutus of Borg: “The System, as it has been, is over.” No longer will you purchase items with Valor, but instead small upgrades. I’m hoping this leads to less of a drive for Valor-capping, or maybe allows for a removing of a cap in some way. I know I’ve always felt a little discouraged when I was on a roll with dungeon runs, and suddenly I’m not getting the rewards any more.

What do you think about these announcements?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

