jump to navigation

And for my next trick… July 3, 2012

Posted by Ben in Achievements.
trackback

I’ve run the Frozen Halls instances (more commonly known as the ICC 5-mans) many times. But only once did I see a [Battered Hilt] drop, and my luck didn’t give it to me.

I’ve decided that I want to take a crack at it again. The quest chain that follows has some interesting lore, including a scene in Sunwell Plateau, that I’d like to experience. And the final quest reward of Quel’Delar is a pretty nice looking sword.

This past Sunday, I rounded up Stormy and Suz and we did a run of the three instances with my Tauren Tankadin. I got four interesting new weapons for transmogging in the future, but no hilt.

We picked up all three guild achievements for the instances, as well as knocked off a bunch of the individual achievements. Because well, at level 85 in Dragon Soul Raid Finder gear, the instance is trivial, but not so much as to be too easy.

Unfortunately, the hilt only drops on Heroic. And I can only run it once a day. But I’ve got time. Maybe by level 90, I’ll be able to solo it. Maybe I could now.

But now I have one more thing to fill the time until we discover Pandaria.

Comments»

1. Stormy - July 3, 2012

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I had fun. I love the ICC 5s, and they have a lot of history/nostalgia value for me. I remember wiping endlessly on the first boss in Forge when people would get feared, and I remember being terrified of HoR when I first got dragged in there by some guildies. Maybe I’m looking at the place through the rose-colored glasses of nostalgia, but I’ve developed a huge fondness for HoR now (and I still maintain that the HoR loading screen with Frostmourne’s platform is the creepiest, most amazing texture Blizzard has ever released).

TL, DR: I had fun. Let’s do it again tomorrow? And this weekend.


Leave a Reply

