jump to navigation

Reshuffling buttons September 6, 2012

Posted by Ben in Uncategorized.
trackback

That title makes it sound like it’s going to be one of those blog posts. But it’s about keybinds.

As has become my custom when a new expansion arrives, I take the opportunity to refresh my interface. My old set of actionbars contained at least three rows of 10 buttons, and some classes had an extra bar scaled down with twelve more buttons. Almost every ability from the spellbook was featured on my bars. At least a third of them weren’t even bound to a key. So useful.

So when 5.0.4 dropped and I had to reorganize my bars with new and changed abilities anyway, I decided to start from scratch. I cleared my bars completely and decided on two rows of five buttons. (and a stance bar for the Druid and Paladin) The buttons on the bars are those required in the rotation and a few utility buttons (Taunt, Silencing Shot, Searing Totem).

Everything else would be put into OPie rings, grouped by function (Offensive/Defensive Cooldowns, Crowd Control, Buffs).

This also means I’ve had to configure the Cooldown Timer feature of DoTimer (for which there is an unofficial update, thankfully), and get used to using that instead of watching cooldowns on the buttons themselves.

Needless to say this has been an involved process. Especially with most of my main characters being dual-specced. Of the nine characters on my primary realm, I’ve gotten the bars set up for five and the OPie rings set up for four.

Have you changed your UI before you head into the Mists?

Comments»

1. Stormy - September 6, 2012

Thank you for giving me the perfect place to post this thought that’s been burning in my head for a couple of days. I was going to write a post about it, but in my head it just sounds like whiny QQ, and that’s no fun.

I *sort of* have my shadow priest under control, although I’m not crazy about the new playstyle and I miss Improved Dev Plague like crazy. I’ll get used to it. I’ll get by.

My druid, on the other hand…OMGWTFBBQ. Before 5.0.4 I had three situational/DPS cooldowns: Barkskin, Solar Beam and Innervate. I now have at least ten. Nevermind that I have just as many regular spell buttons as I do on the priest, but I actually have at least ten buttons that I need to hit on a regular basis to either increase my DPS or accomplish something (like Solar Beam and Innervate). What is this I don’t even. I don’t have enough enough places to put enough buttons and I don’t have enough brainpower to keep track of all of that and also get out of the fire in .0003 seconds before I die. Maybe it’s time for me to face the fact that I’m a terribad, but there comes a point where spell bloat just gets out of control.

Ben - September 7, 2012

On the druid front…I can’t help you. I tried to be Balance in Cataclysm, but I just couldn’t get a feel for the rhythm of Eclipse and switching the spells in my rotation. I switched my druid’s DPS spec back to Feral this past week. (But I’m still clinging to Resto, because…TREANTS!)

I don’t know if OPie rings are going to help or hurt me with all the extra buttons, but I figure I’ll spend time with the target dummy, and see if that helps. Once I finally get everyone specced, glyphed, and keybound.


Leave a Reply

