jump to navigation

Ch-ch-ch-changes October 24, 2012

Posted by Stormy in Guild Stuff, Raiding.
trackback

I’ll admit that I’m kind of odd: I love reading “what I’m doing in WoW” posts from other bloggers, but I never write them. I just assume other people don’t really give a rip what I’m doing in-game. Writing one of these once in a while never hurt anybody, right?

Toward the end of Wrath, Ben, Suzanne, and I packed up our things (along with some other disaffected guildies) and started our own guild, Sane Asylum of Garrosh. I love my guild beyond all reason. I love our founding principles, I love our open and welcoming atmosphere and our commitment to diversity, I love our commitment to helping each other out, I even love our tabard. We left our old guild in August 2010, and shortly thereafter a bunch of folks from our old guild followed. We built a raid team, and on the night we killed the Lich King I really felt like we’d accomplished something. Like all good things in life, it didn’t last.

The remnants are still there. I still have seven toons in Sane Asylum, and I’m still GM. A couple weeks ago I convinced a coworker to come back to WoW, and he needed help getting back up to speed gear-wise. Ben reached into his own bags and magically pulled out a bunch of Ghost Iron and made a complete gear set. My friend offered to pay for it or to exchange goods of similar value, and Ben declined. That’s just…how we roll, and it’s how we’ve always rolled. It’s irreplaceable, and I wouldn’t change it for anything else in the world.

However, the reality of the situation is that I am terrible at managing and growing a guild. I tried it for a long time, and failed miserably. At this point, every single person that I’ve recruited to join our guild has either left or quit the game. Sure, a lot of that is my fault, but a lot of it is that we’re simply too small to consistently offer the kinds of things that keep people around–organized events, PvP, a raid team, etc. Scenarios are going to be perfect for our guild because the three of us can do them together, but we’re unlikely to do much more than that.

As guilty as I feel about it, and as much as I feel like I’m completely abandoning the guild that I helped build, I need more, too. If I relegated myself to the things that I can do in a three-person guild it’s pretty much scenarios, occasional dungeon runs and leveling alts, and I’ve done all that. I did it all through Cataclysm, to the point where I had six 85s. But in the new Mists of Grindaria world, the thought of maintaining six max-level characters is mind-numbing, if not nigh-on impossible. I need more fulfillment from my WoW than that.

A couple weeks before Cataclysm ended I Twitter-stalked my friend Nymphy and moved my only max-level Alliance toon to Eff the Ineffable of Azuremyst, and they were kind enough to adopt a wayward shadow priest. Heck, ten minutes after I joined the guild they dragged my massively undergeared butt through a full clear of Dragon Soul, a sure sign that yes, they were willing to put up with my shit if I let them. I mostly sit on the sidelines of guild chat since I don’t really know anyone yet, but I’m warming up to a few guildies via Twitter. They’re all kind, respectful individuals who (mostly) behave like adults and treat each other well, and although I feel like an alien in a completely foreign universe, I like what I’ve seen so far. Our first official raid is on Friday evening, and part of me is so psyched I can’t even handle it, and part of me is scared shitless that I’m going to make a fool out of myself. I want to do well, and I want to smash faces in Mogu’shan Vaults. These guys deserve that.

(Side note because I’m a good guildie: We have a reasonably full, well-balanced raid team. As a member of #TeamPriest I’m scared to death of what’s going to happen to our priest healers (both Holy and Disc are getting their collective asses kicked on World of Logs), but we’ll manage. However, if you happen to be a wayward rogue or windwalker monk who wants to be adopted by a close-knit family of good people and help us smash faces, you can go to efftheineffable.com and we’d like to talk to you.)

And so, like sands through the hour glass, the tide marches on, and a whole bunch of other cliches. I did finally get my Horde main to 90 the other day and I’m looking forward to adventures with Suzanne and Ben, but this weekend I have a date with the inhabitants of Mogu’shan Vaults, and they’d better be ready. Eff the Ineffable is coming for them.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

